HVA Lecture Series - Professor Ken Howard, OBE, RA

Professor Ken Howard, OBE, RA

Our Quarterly Meetings are held at the University of Hertfordshire, UH College Lane Campus, Lindop Building—Room A161, Hatfield at 7.30pm. Entry is free to Herts Visual Arts members. Guests £3 payable at the door.

On Thursday 28th April at 7.30pm we look forwad to the return of Professor Ken Howard, OBE, RA  who will be delivering the second in his series of talks.  The subject on this occasion is 'Beaches and Venice'.

About Professor Ken Howard, OBE, RA

"Palazzo Bernardo" Ken Howard

Professor Howard studied at Hornsey School of Art from 1949 to 1953. He then did his National Service with the Royal Marines before returning to study at the Royal College of Art from 1955 to 1958. He went on to win a British Council Scholarship to Florence from 1958 to 1959.

Howard’s first solo show exhibition was held at the Plymouth Art Centre in 1955. Subsequent exhibitions were held in 1966 and 1968 at the John Whibley Gallery. From then on he exhibited extensively, both nationally and internationally, particularly with the New Grafton Gallery from the early 1970s.

Howard was elected a member of the New English Art Club in 1962, the Royal Institute of Oil Painters in 1966, the Royal Society of Painters in Watercolours in 1979, the Royal West of England Academy 1981, Honorary Member of the Royal Society of British Artists in 1988, Royal Academician in 1991 and President of the New English Art Club in 1998. Among his numerous awards are First Prize in the Lord Mayor’s Art Award in 1966, a Prize Winner in the John Moores Exhibition, Liverpool in 1978, first prize in the Hunting Group Awards and the Critics Prize at Sparkasse Karlsruhe in 1985. Ken Howard lives and works in London.

"The Blue Windbreak" Ken Howard

He was given a retrospective in 1972 at the Plymouth City Art Gallery and in 1973 and 1979 was appointed by the Imperial War Museum as official artist in Northern Ireland. He also worked with the British Army in Germany, Cyprus, Oman, Hong Kong, Nepal, Norway, Canada, Belize and Brunei from 1973 to 1982.


Login or become a member to comment.